# CONGRATULATIONS

TO THE WINNERS

of the 2024 Writing Contests

& thanks to all who entered.

There were many excellent entries this year.



A NOTE ON JUDGING:
ALL ENTRIES WERE READ ANONYMOUSLY.

ALL ENTRIES WERE READ

BY AT LEAST TWO JUDGES.



THE AWARD CEREMONY

will be held on Friday, April 26<sup>th</sup> at 1:00 pm at the Greenberg Center in Harry Jack Gray.



First Place designations are awarded \$500.

Second Place designations are awarded \$400.

Third Place designations are awarded \$300.

Honorable Mentions are awarded \$200.

### Melvin Goldstein Awards for Papers on Film/ Art Using Interdisciplinary Approaches

First Place: Warren Parton

Second Place: MaKenna Sweeney
Third Place (tie): Christopher Hinson
Kendall Grenolds



# Joseph Doyle Prize for Best Critical Essay Written in an Introductory Class

First Place (tie): Indiana Pellegrino
Diana Isaacs

Second Place: Emma Walsh Honorable Mention: Camille Henri



#### Phyllis B. Abrahms Awards in Drama

First Place: MaKenna Sweeney Second Place: Kendall Grenolds Third Place: Brendan C. McGee



#### Phyllis B. Abrahms Awards in Poetry

First Place: Alexa Schwartz

Second Place: Shelby Barrett-Whitmore

Third Place: Kendall Grenolds

Honorable Mentions: MaKenna Sweeney

Sophie Lee



### Phyllis B. Abrahms Awards in Fiction

First Place: Kyle Mieczkowski Second Place: Kaitlyn Hirtle Third Place: Sequoia Hornsby Honorable Mention: Isabella Ruiz

# Phyllis B. Abrams Awards in the Personal Essay

First Place (tie): Shelby Barrett-Whitmore

Alexa Schwartz

Second Place: Gianna Balsamo



### Joseph Doyle Prize for Critical Essays on American Literature

First Place: Indiana Pellegrino Second Place: Joshua Weiner



# Melvin Goldstein Awards for Papers on Lit. Using Interdisciplinary Approaches

First Place: Alyssa Archambault Honorable Mentions: Warren Parton Joshua Weiner



## Phyllis B. Abrahms Awards for Critical Essays on Literature Other than American Literature

First Place: Roz Green Second Place (tie): Warren Parton Albert Vargas



# Minerva Nieditz Awards for Metaphysical Poetry

First Place: Nell Shore Sirotin Second Place: Nawilda Vasquez Third Place: Isabella Ruiz



# Joseph Doyle Prize for Best Personal Essay Written in an Introductory Class

First Place: Sequoia Hornsby Second Place: Diana Isaacs